My Favourite 5 Lush Products

***This post contains a review of a products which I am not receiving any financial benefit for and have not been given as freebies to produce a review, it is just my opinion.***

I did a post on the 5 most common reasons my dog barks and as I was doing that I decided to do a post on my favourite cosmetics shop –Lush.
I love their products so much. My mum can tell when I’ve had a bath, even if she has been out of the house as the whole house smells, well lush! I will be doing a countdown of my favourite 5 Lush products in this post. I also can confirm I have Lush’s permission to use the photos on their website of the products I’m going to mention.

Number 5: Sweetie Pie Shower Jelly

Sweetie Pie surrounded by ingredients that make it Sweetie Pie

Sweetie Pie surrounded by the ingredients that make it Sweetie Pie

I was introduced to this lovely product in April 2009, by a member of staff at the Covent Gardens store. I’m so glad I stumbled upon the Covent Gardens store when I was visiting London and was given a demonstration of Sweetie Pie Shower Jelly. It smells to me like black currants and very sweet. I love the shimmer you get when you use it and that you don’t have to use a lot to clean your body, especially if you use a sponge or body puff. The only problem I find with it is that it can be slippery to use if you don’t have a sponge or body puff.

Number 4: Vanilla Puff Dusting Powder

Vanilla Puff surrounded by vanilla pods

Vanilla Puff surrounded by vanilla pods

To be honest I’m not a big vanilla scent fan, but I do love using Vanilla Puff Dusting Powder. Lush include a vanilla pod in each bottle to keep the vanilla scent in the last drop as strong as the first time you use it. It contains talc which makes it good after a bath…a bit of a luxury talcum powder for adults! 🙂 I sometimes use it as a dry shampoo. I wouldn’t have thought of using it that way, it was a few of the girls who work in my nearest Lush shop, which is in Stirling, that told me it works great as a dry shampoo. I took their suggestion and am glad I did, just a little rubbed into the roots then brushed through and voila renewed hair.

Number 3: Ickle Baby Bot Bath Bomb

Ickle Baby Bot
I know it’s designed for kids but I don’t care as I have loved this one for a long time. I remember when it was a baby’s face instead of a robot! I tend to break it in half to make it go further and that makes it feasible to be an everyday bath bomb. I used it in the bath once for Bambi and Cinderella, and Bambi giggled with glee watching the robot disappear turning the bath blue and Cinderella was awe-struck at it too.

Number 2: Rose Queen/ Tisty Tosty Bath Bombs

The Rose Queen

The Rose Queen

The Tisty Tosty

The Tisty Tosty

I’ve put these together as to me they are very similar. If I’m a bit strapped for cash I opt for Rose Queen but I’ve got a bit to splurge I love Tisty Tosty. Rose Queen has a mixture of flowers in it and Tisty Tosty has roses in it, then they float around the bath giving a feeling of luxury and gorgeous rose scents fill the bathroom. (If I remember right Rose Queen has a rose in its flower mixture too but don’t quote me!)

Number 1: Honey I Washed The Kids Soap

Honey I Washed The Kids

Honey I Washed The Kids

Honey I Washed The Kids surrounded by the ingredients that make it Honey I Washed The Kids

My ultimate favorite and no this isn’t a sequel to the 80’s and 90’s film series, it is a wonderful soap! If I could only have one Lush product for some reason (like being stranded on a desert island scenario) it would be Honey I Washed The Kids. I love the smell, a toffee, honey, caramel smell that envelops you the minute water hits the soap. For the rest of the day I sniff my hands to recapture that scent. It is so moreish and I admit I have been tempted to eat it on more than one occasion as it smells delicious. That would certainly bring a whole new meaning to wash your mouth out with soap – lol. In fact when I stumbled upon the Covent Gardens store, if I remember rightly the reason I went in was because of my love of Honey I Washed The Kids Soap and wanted some, so I owe my love of Sweetie Pie Shower Jelly to Honey I Washed The Kids Soap.

Those are my top 5 but some others that didn’t make it into the top 5 but I still love are Brazened Honey Face Mask, Jumping Juniper Solid Shampoo, Rock Star Soap, Pop In The Bath Bubble Bar, Creamy Candy Bubble Bar and Figs And Leaves Soap. Another product I loved to bits but was discontinued is Coconut Deodorant Powder.

Top Tips: use Figs And Leaves Soap as an exfoliating soap! I also love that if you bring back 5 black pots you get a free face mask, which I use to try the different ones but my favorite face mask is still Brazened Honey Face Mask.

In the spirit of honesty I also feel I should mention the products that unfortunately I haven’t loved. Remember this is just my opinion, you may like them and that’s great. Teo Deodorant and Toothy Tabs – why? Well the Teo Deodorant was great at first but the more I used it, it began to irritate my skin. Toothy Tabs I want to love but all the samples in store I tried just didn’t taste nice, now I know it’s meant to be toothpaste and taste isn’t number 1 priority but still if you can’t stand the taste of something in your mouth, are you really going to put it in your mouth? (To the Lush employees out there reading this, make one that tastes okay and I’ll be happy to purchase. I accidentally swallowed some of Mint Julips Lip Scrub once and loved how it tasted to me of mint chocolate, so if you could perhaps make a Toothy Tab to taste just like Mint Julips Lip Scrub I’d buy it).

Have you tried Lush before? What’s your favourite products? If you haven’t tried their products before have I inspired you to try one? I’ve been in store many times and I’ve ordered online before and their service is fabulous, but if you haven’t tried their products before I’d recommend visiting a store first to find out which products you like then use the online service to order more of the products you liked. After all the internet doesn’t have a button you can click to get a smell. Leave your comments below and thanks for reading, I’ve now got to go wash my hands as I want to enjoy the Lush aromas!

Brazened Honey Face Mask

Brazened Honey Face Mask

Jumping Juniper Solid Shampoo

Jumping Juniper Solid Shampoo

Rockstar Soap

Rockstar Soap

Pop In The Bath Bubble Bar

Pop In The Bath Bubble Bar

Creamy Candy Bubble Bar

Creamy Candy Bubble Bar


Figs and Leaves Soap

Figs And Leaves Soap

4 thoughts on “My Favourite 5 Lush Products

  1. I’m going to be that irritating commentor who tries to get you to see her point of view. There is Blue Dye #1 in your children’s bath bombs. It’s something I discovered only a year ago and as a Mommy I can’t not say something. Blue dye is the one food dye that can enter the body through physical contact. I added some links if you care to understand more. Hope you take this in the spirit of Mommy’s sharing information.

    http://naturallysavvy.com/Eat/study-shows-blue-dyes-are-harmful

    http://www.fda.gov/ForIndustry/ColorAdditives/ColorAdditivesinSpecificProducts/InMedicalDevices/ucm142395.htm

    http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2011/02/24/are-you-or-your-family-eating-toxic-food-dyes.aspx

    • Thanks for taking the time to read my post and comment, I do appreciate it. I quickly looked at the information you provided but will look into it in more detail later.
      I believe my sister-in-law normally uses Johnson baby products for Bambi and Cinderella’s bath. It was a one-off I used it when they were staying over as I couldn’t find our supply of Johnson bath products and the kids were jumping up and down desperate to get in bath, so I used my Lush bath bomb for my nephew and niece as it was meant for kids. If when I read more into it I find that I agree with you in regard to the blue dye issue, I will make sure I never use it again for them and make sure my sister-in-law knows too.
      But thank you again for commenting and bringing this issue to my attention.

Leave a Reply

