Britain’s Got Talent First Live Semi-Final

I did a quick round-up of each week of auditions for weeks 1 and 2 together click here, week 3’s here, for week’s 4, for week’s 5 click this link , for week 6’s
click here and finally for week’s 7 auditions and judges decisions on who was going to make it to semi-finals click this link.

NB: This post gives a quick explanation of the golden buzzer. Remember too that this is just my opinion and does not necessarily reflect the view of the act or ITV/ Britain’s Got Talent. If you haven’t seen the acts below I’m sure you can find them on ITV’s website, or the app if you are in the UK, if not use that trusty search engine (looks a bit like the word goggle) to see if you can find videos of them.

Of tonight’s live semi-finals the acts I most looked forward to were:
Countryvive
Patsy May
John Clegg

But did my look out for acts match my expectations? Or did one I not expect to enjoy surprise me? Well my expectation acts and stand-out acts were:

Countryvive I liked but I wasn’t wowed by them as I was at their audition. Maybe their song choice wasn’t quite right? I preferred the second half of their act tonight, but the first part just ,in my opinion, didn’t work.

Lauren & Terrell were a duo of 12 year olds who to me did a mission impossible kind of theme for their dance act. I was impressed with Terrell jumping through Lauren’s leg and arm circle, almost like an animal act that jumps through hoops.

Patsy May I loved, but as the judges said I would have loved more stand-up/ one liners from her. She did singing with a few gags in between but nonetheless the act put a smile on my face.

John Clegg did more impressions and most were done fantastically. One or two were not quite right but his Ant and Dec were hilarious especially when you saw Ant and Dec’s reaction. I also loved the set of a TV set but he should have made it a modern LCD set rather than a 70’s style wooden TV set.

Collabro have good voices but I’m just not a classical/ opera type fan which to me their song choice falls under. I found myself not liking the song but liking their strong vocals and harmonising, so if they picked a different song but still within their vocal range I’d love them.

My choices to go through to live finals from tonight’s semi-finals would be any of the following:
Lauren & Terrell
Patsy May
John Clegg
Collabro

I can’t wait for the results and will post about them with tomorrow’s live semi final post.

So did you enjoy the first live semi-final this year? Did any acts not live up to their audition standard for you? Did any wow you? I’d be happy to read your comments.

One thought on “Britain’s Got Talent First Live Semi-Final

  1. Pingback: Britain’s Got Talent 2015 Week 3 round-up | Loveneverfails2014

Leave a Reply

