Britain’s Got Talent Second Live Semi-Final

I did a quick round-up of each week of auditions for weeks 1 and 2 together click here, week 3’s here, for week’s 4, for week’s 5 click this link , for week 6’s
click here and finally for week’s 7 auditions and judges decisions on who was going to make it to semi-finals click this link.
For my opinion on the first semi-final click here.

NB: This post gives a quick explanation of the golden buzzer. Remember too that this is just my opinion and does not necessarily reflect the view of the act or ITV/ Britain’s Got Talent. If you haven’t seen the acts below I’m sure you can find them on ITV’s website, or the app if you are in the UK, if not use that trusty search engine (looks a bit like the word goggle) to see if you can find videos of them.

Last night Collabro won the public vote. They are a musical theatre group. They definitely can sing but their song choices so far have been too classical/operatic for me. I’m glad they are through as they have got talent, just not my personal taste so far.

Of tonight’s live semi-finals the acts I most looked forward to were:
Bolddog FMX Team
Ed Drewett
Kony Puppets

But did my look out for acts surpass my expectations? Or did one act I was expecting to hate actually surprise me? Well my expectation acts and stand-out acts were:

Ed Drewett sang the same original song of his as at his audition. He had a live band behind him this time. I’m still trying to figure out who his voice reminds me of. The crowd giving a standing ovation shows they appreciated his performance. I liked his song so it was good to hear it again but I’m on the fence as to whether he should have played us a different song or not.

Bolddog FMX Team due to their act, they had to pre-record their act but only got one go and no editing, to make it just as though it was a live act. To me there was only a few different stunts from their audition, however they took the act to the next stage by adding fire. If they get through I wonder what they will do to up the act? Simon suggested mini bikes for the stunts, yeah that could up the danger factor.

Jodi Bird sang another musical theatre song. She has a good and strong voice, she definitely has a huge career ahead of her as she is very talented in this field. I can see her at the very least being in live musical touring companies, coming to a theatre near you soon style or with her exposure on this show she may end up lending her voice to blockbuster musicals.

Kony Puppets were funny, but they could have polished their act a little more for the live semi-finals. All four judges buzzed so the act was cut short. I do like the idea but I think they need to be more refined.

James Smith was a brilliant 15 year old guitar player and singer. Very bravely he sang acoustic on a live performance in a competition but he delivered and didn’t let himself down. I see him with an album out in the near future and hundreds of teenage girls running after him.

I think I’m turning into a harsh judge, the acts really have to impress me by having talent, originality and something new as I’ve been watching Britain’s Got Talent since the first year and it is starting to get repetitive in some ways. The results will be revealed soon and I will post about them with tomorrow’s live semi final post.

So are you now into the semi-finals routine? Has an act not gone through yet that you would give the wild card? Do you agree with my opinion on tonight’s show? Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

