Britain’s Got Talent Third Live Semi-Final

I did a quick round-up of each week of auditions for weeks 1 and 2 together click here, week 3’s here, for week’s 4, for week’s 5 click this link , for week 6’s
click here and finally for week’s 7 auditions and judges decisions on who was going to make it to semi-finals click this link.
For my opinion on the first semi-final click here and for the second here.

NB: This post gives a quick explanation of the golden buzzer. Remember too that this is just my opinion and does not necessarily reflect the view of the act or ITV/ Britain’s Got Talent. If you haven’t seen the acts below I’m sure you can find them on ITV’s website, or the app if you are in the UK, if not use that trusty search engine (looks a bit like the word goggle) to see if you can find videos of them.

Last night the act that won the public vote was James Smith. I’m very pleased he won, and as much as I hate how many singers end up in the semi-finals and finals, I think he deserved his place as he is very a talented singer shown by his acoustic performance but also wanted Jodi Bird as the act to go through on the judges vote. But hey there is always a wild card and so far I’d give it to her or to John Clegg.

Of tonight’s live semi-finals the acts I most looked forward to were:
REAformed (Alesha’s golden buzzer act)
Sam Jones

But did my look out for acts live up to my expectations? Or did an act I wasn’t looking forward to watching change my opinion of them? Well my expectation acts and stand-out acts were:

Sam Jones revealed in his video before the act that he has Tourette’s syndrome. Some of his jokes were quite funny but it might have been nerves or his Tourette’s but it wasn’t as great as the audition, that said there have been far worse acts in the semi-finals. At least the act made me laugh.

REAformed sang a song I didn’t recognise but they nailed it. The outfits weren’t to my taste but that shouldn’t take away from their ability to sing. Their performance earned them 3 judges giving a standing ovation. I agree with David’s comments “sometimes it’s like we are watching stars and watching you girls tonight it was like we were watching a massive pop group”.

Lucy Kay is a opera singer, which if you have read my other posts you will know I’m not a opera fan. Her act though was mesmerising as she hit every note (well I think she did) and the crowd and judges all gave her a standing ovation. That says a lot as Simon doesn’t often give standing ovations so she must be an outstanding singer.

Of tonight’s acts I only have two that my vote to go through would go to:
REAformed
Lucy Kay

The results show won’t be long and hopefully my act choices will go through. Tomorrow’s post will include my thoughts on tonight’s winner.

Did you enjoy the acts tonight? Would gave the best performance in your view? Have one of the acts you have seen from any of the nights so far got the potential to win? Looking forward to reading your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

