Britain’s Got Talent Fifth Live Semi-Final

I did a quick round-up of each week of auditions for weeks 1 and 2 together click here, week 3’s here, for week’s 4, for week’s 5 click this link , for week 6’s
click here and finally for week’s 7 auditions and judges decisions on who was going to make it to semi-finals click this link.
For my opinion on the first semi-final click here, for the second here, for the third here and the fourth one is here.

NB: This post gives a quick explanation of the golden buzzer. Remember too that this is just my opinion and does not necessarily reflect the view of the act or ITV/ Britain’s Got Talent. If you haven’t seen the acts below I’m sure you can find them on ITV’s website, or the app if you are in the UK, if not use that trusty search engine (looks a bit like the word goggle) to see if you can find videos of them.

Thursday night the act that won the public vote was Bars and Melody. Those boys have a cheeky charming nature and are brilliantly talented so I’m not surprised they won. They are just so adorable, they will be one of my favourites for the final.

It was the last live semi-finals and the acts I most looked forward to were:
Paddy and Nico (Amanda’s golden buzzer act)
Kings and Queens
Jack Pack

But did the acts I was looking forward to live up to my hopes? Or was I wowed by an act I hadn’t expected to like? Well my expectation acts and stand-out acts were:

Kings and Queens again didn’t stick to your traditional Latin dance music and moves. The first part just doesn’t work for me. The music and moves just didn’t gel but then at the quick costume change I loved them again. They then went on to Latin dance to a Peter Andre track! Takes skill to make something like that work. To me they tied into the closing theme/move of the audition with all members of the group lying on the floor bar one girl left standing. Maybe if they get into final they all plan to lie down? Or mix it up with one guy left? Or one is lying down all standing? Or maybe one will fly off into the rafters? Who knows?

Kieran Lai was not brilliant but I enjoyed watching his performance. He is a 17 year old dancer and loved the concept of him breaking out the capsule then helping other capsules of himself break free. Some of the dancing wasn’t great especially about the middle but it was a very imaginative and modern dance idea. I wasn’t thrilled by his music choices either but still again I reiterate it was imaginative and different meaning it was good for me.

Paddy and Nico we’re not due to be on tonight. Why? Paddy had injured herself a couple of weeks ago and on Thursday night it was announced that she would not be able to participate in the show due to her injuries. Today though she was cleared by a doctor to perform, but they had to do a tamer, less risky routine than what had been planned. Now to their performance tonight. Their act started off with a line of dancers exiting the stage leaving just them. They then did a bit of tame moves and I was happy with that thinking well they do have injuries to consider if that’s all they can do tonight good for them, but then they did aeroplanes (my years watching Dancing On Ice have paid off) and some cartwheels. More moves I lost track of which were shockingly awesome. For a nearly 80 year old Paddy is amazing. My gran is about ages with her, and my gran can barely walk never mind be flung about a stage! I really want them to do well in this competition. They got a standing ovation from all four judges and the crowd. Simon was very pleased with himself on Thursday night as his is the only golden buzzer act to go through to live finals, well since Paddy and Nico have done their act I’m not so sure he will be as pleased.

Jack Pack did My Way their way and did it fantastically. It started off a bit shaky but once they got into it they nailed it. Their performance earned them a standing ovation from the crowd and all judges. Their act was the best end to a semi-final I think I’ve ever seen.

The act I would be happy to see perform again at the finals would be:
Kings and Queens

But I’d very happy to see the next two acts in the final:
Paddy and Nico
Jack Pack

I will post at some point during the week about my thoughts on tonight’s winner. I will also comment on who I am most looking forward to seeing in the final from who has gone through from all nights.

That’s the semi-finals over with just the results show to be done for tonight. What have you thought of the acts tonight? Was there any acts you didn’t enjoy tonight? Did any acts impress you tonight? Leave your thoughts for me to read.

Leave a Reply

