Britain’s Got Talent Live Final

I did a quick round-up of each week of auditions for weeks 1 and 2 together click here, week 3’s here, for week’s 4, for week’s 5 click this link , for week 6’s
click here and finally for week’s 7 auditions and judges decisions on who was going to make it to semi-finals click this link.
For my opinion on the first semi-final click here, for the second here, for the third here, the fourth one is here and my review of the last semi-final is here. I did a quick post here about my thoughts on the winners of the fifth semi-final and who I was most looking forward tonight.

NB: This post gives a quick explanation of the golden buzzer. Remember too that this is just my opinion and does not necessarily reflect the view of the act or ITV/ Britain’s Got Talent. If you haven’t seen the acts below I’m sure you can find them on ITV’s website, or the app if you are in the UK, if not use that trusty search engine (looks a bit like the word goggle) to see if you can find videos of them.

The live finals acts I was most excited to see were:
Paddy and Nico (Amanda’s golden buzzer act)
Jack Pack
Bars and Melody (Simon’s golden buzzer act)
James Smith
John Clegg

But did I enjoy the above acts? Or was I left disappointed by their final performance? Did I love an act I wasn’t expecting to enjoy? Well here are my comments on my standout acts:

John Clegg was the second act in the final. Were his impressions awesome? Yes. My jaws were sore from laughing. I love that he keeps the classic impressions that get the huge laughs but brings in new material that can make me laugh so much too that way you don’t get bored. He truly deserved that wild card. You just have to hear his Dec!!

Bars and Melody did their anti-bullying song that was their first audition song. It is a tear-jerker and knowing it is based upon personal experience makes you just want to go up to them and say “I won’t let anyone hurt you again.”. They are a beautiful young pair of singers with such inspiring songs. Unsurprisingly all four judges were on their feet after this performance.

James Smith went acoustic again for the final, which I’ll repeat my comments from the semi-final is brave. You are open to every flaw to be picked up on. However, in my opinion he didn’t have any. I did not recognise the song he sung, but he did it very well. He too found his performance moving four judges to their feet.

Jack Pack have firmly put swing back on the map. I am so glad and I love them. Their song choice tonight was feeling good. They also have good interaction with the audience and camera. I hope they inspire more to take up swing music. I also hope this catapults songwriters into this genre and bring out a whole new swing music song choice. Jack Pack have made swing modern and cool. All four judges stood up after this performance too.

Paddy and Nico once again put me to shame. The moves Paddy does would make you think Nico is dancing with a doll as she does manage to get into some crazy positions. The fact she is nearly 80 makes it all the more astounding. I’m getting kind of fed up typing this now, but it shows just how talented the final acts were, but they too got four judges on their feet.

So no acts really stood out, maybe because most were fabulous. It was a high quality final (only a couple I didn’t like). I will do a post later in the week about my thoughts on the winners.

Do you agree or disagree with my comments? Did you enjoy the final? Which act do you want to win? Leave your comments below. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

