Britain’s Got Talent 2015 First Live Semi-Final

Thankfully this post is only a day late as the first semi-final was on Monday 25 May 2015. Parts of the reviews I made on the day, others later but where I have reviewed at a later time I’ve tried my best to give the thoughts I had at the time of first viewing.

I did a quick round-up of week 1’s audition amongst another post, which you can find here. For week 2, click here, week 3 here, week 4’s, week 5’s here, week 6’s is here and finally for week’s 7 auditions and my thoughts on who I’m most looking forward to in the semi-finals click this link.

Of tonight’s live semi-finals the acts I most looked forward to were:

Becky O’Brien

Billy and Emily England

But did my look out for acts match my expectations? Or did one I not expect to enjoy surprise me? Well my expectation acts and stand-out acts were:

Billy and Emily England – The act began with Emily in a plastic ball gradually opening as it was lowering from the ceiling, she emerged from the ball and her brother then began spinning her about. They were both in black and silver outfits and that was one of the few things that held my attention. I agree with Simon that music wasn’t right, it was bitty in the sense that they had to keep stopping and starting for different moves, and it was a lot of the same moves from the audition. I felt kind of let down and underwhelmed but I commend her bravery for the plastic ball, as she could easily have fell out as it was opening.

Becky O’Brien – Becky was in a stunning red dress and sang a song called If I Could. She said she found it online and it had been covered by some famous singers. If I Could is about a parent wanting to protect their child and that was the reason she choose it, as everything she does is for her kids. She did the song very well but I don’t think it did her justice, as it didn’t allow us to see her range but that said I want her in the finals.

Mitch & Cally The Wonderdog – I never mentioned them in my round-up, but Cally tried to break the world record of 100 balloons popped by a dog. In the audition Mitch had taped down balloons for Cally to pop but 1 broke free and Cally kept chasing it across the stage to pop so failed in breaking the record. The judges felt she deserved a second chance. I’m glad they did. They had an official Guinness Book of Records judge come on the stage and watch over the act. The world record holders were an American dog and owner at 44 seconds. Cally made a new record of 41 seconds! Simon mentioned if they get through they are arranging for the final a “balloon off” between Cally and the American dog! That could be fun, 2 dogs and 200 balloons.

My choices to go through to live finals from tonight’s semi-finals would be any of the following:

Becky O’Brien

Mitch & Cally The Wonderdog

I can’t wait for the results and will post about them with tomorrow’s live semi-final post.

So did you enjoy the first live semi-final this year? Did any acts not live up to their audition standard for you? Did any wow you? I’d be happy to read your comments.

NB: This post gives a quick explanation of the golden buzzer. Remember too that this is just my opinion and does not necessarily reflect the view of the act or ITV/ Britain’s Got Talent. If you haven’t seen the acts above I’m sure you can find them on ITV’s website, or the app if you are in the UK, if not use that trusty search engine (looks a bit like the word goggle) to see if you can find videos of them.

6 thoughts on “Britain’s Got Talent 2015 First Live Semi-Final

  1. Pingback: Britain’s Got Talent 2015 Second Live Semi-Final | Loveneverfails2014

  2. Pingback: Britain’s Got Talent 2015 Third Live Semi-Final | Loveneverfails2014

  3. Pingback: Britain’s Got Talent 2015 Fourth Live Semi-Final | Loveneverfails2014

  4. Pingback: Britain’s Got Talent 2015 Fifth Live Semi-Final | Loveneverfails2014

  5. Pingback: Britain’s Got Talent 2015 Live Final | Loveneverfails2014

  6. Pingback: Britain’s Got Talent 2015 Winner | Loveneverfails2014

Leave a Reply

